Morgan County, Alabama License Office

Registration Information

Time Extended for Motor Vehicle Registration Renewals

ORDER BY THE COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE

Vernon Barnett,Commissioner of the Alabama Department of Revenue, has issued an extension of time for obtaining March, April, May, and June 2020 Motor Vehicle registration renewals, the deadline has been extended through July 17, 2020.  The extension of time includes the registration of vehicle purchased or otherwise acquired whereby the 20 day registration requirement falls during the period of March 17, 2020 through July 17, 2020.

Delinquency and Interest Charges

Registrants have 20 days from date of purchase or acquisition to register a newly acquired vehicle without penalty. 

The 20 day grace period begins the day following the purchase or acquisition date.

If acquisition date is different from the purchase date, the registrant must show proof documents of acquisition date.

A $15.00 late penalty will be applied for any registrant that does not register the newly acquired vehicle in the 20 day grace period. 

A $15.00 late penalty will be applied for any registrant that does not renew their vehicle tag by the last day of the renewal month.  If the last day of the renewal month falls on Saturday, Sunday or Holiday in which the office is closed, registrants will be given the next business day to renew their vehicle tag without a late penalty.


Please click here for COVID-19 INFO.
Our goal is to serve you, the citizens of Morgan County professionally, efficiently and with the utmost courtesy.

POPULAR LINKS

CAR TAG
RENEWAL

See Schedule »

DRIVERS
LICENSE

View details »

VEHICLE
REGISTRATION

View details »

TITLES AND
DOCUMENTS

View details »

ONLINE
RENEWALS

View details »